Alan Simpson
2 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Hello, I’m Alan aka Tater, Nice to Meet You

An Introduction to Me Updated 12/8/21

Me with Henry Winkler at ALA Conference

About Me

I am a 52-year-old semi-retired/on sabbatical librarian. I left my job of 25 years one year ago this week because it was destroying my mental health. I am one of those writers who refuse to choose a niche, though I do write enough about books and reading to be a top writer in those topics. I also do an occasional TV review. Otherwise, I write about whatever topic is in my head that day.

My Most Read/Favorite Articles

  1. My 20 Favorite Books of All Time
  2. My 9 Favorite Mystery Thriller Series
  3. How Teen Romance Saved My Reading
  4. On Leadership
  5. I’m So Vain, I Probably Think This Book Is About Me

What I Do

As I mentioned above, I am on sabbatical/retired from my original career. Right now, I am splitting my time between writing on Medium and continuing my long-running personal blog, The World’s Common Tater. I write a daily “what’s on TV tonight” post there along with more personal blog style writing. I am looking for a long-term volunteer opportunity and will likely try to start as a substitute teacher or librarian in the new year. Eventually, I might once again try to write a book about my 20 years as a jail librarian.

--

--

Alan Simpson

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.