Life Without Facebook

Alan Simpson
2 min readOct 5, 2021

I went to the library yesterday morning to return some books. I went back to the one where I worked for the first time in months. Monday mornings are safe because I know I can avoid seeing the toxic person who somehow still has a leadership position. I was there for more than an hour chatting with people. I stopped for my free Dunkin coffee on the way home. All of this meant that I missed the beginning of the Great Facebook Outage of 2021. I spend way too much time on social media, so I noticed it pretty soon after I arrived home.

So, what did I do when I couldn’t mindlessly scroll through Facebook?

I used Twitter more than I usually do. I don’t know why I’m so bad at Twitter. I should work on that.

I decided to see how easy it is to upload a video to Tik Tok. The result is here — a video of me walking a cheetah. And thus endeth my Tik Tok career.

I had to drive around to people’s houses to write on their walls. It was exhausting.

I read.

I walked the dog.

I laughed at people who cheered Facebook being down like they can’t just choose not to use it.

I laughed at them again when they acted sad it was back because ‘life was good without it” because they can still choose to not use it.

Will the outage change my habits? Maybe. I won’t stop using social media or Facebook, but I might look at Twitter more. I just need to work on my list of who I’m following to make it more pleasant.

Originally published at http://theycallmetater.com on October 5, 2021.

--

--

Alan Simpson

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.