Friendship

Seasonal Friends

Some friends are meant to be a part of your life temporarily

Alan Simpson
2 min readOct 19, 2022

--

Photo of a page from I’m glad my mom is dead by jenetter mccurdy
Photo by author

The above is from I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy. iCarly was wrapping and she was afraid that her friendship with Miranda would turn out to be just a show friendship that would fade when they no longer worked together.

It got me thinking about friendships again and how pretty much all of mine have been seasonal.

My high school friends mostly faded away after graduation. Some became college friends as well.

My college friends faded away after I moved out of town.

My Cincinnati friends faded away after I moved to Maryland.

My church friends faded away when I changed churches.

My library friends faded away when I left the library.

I’m not saying they aren’t still friends. Many of them are still people I know I could count on if I needed them. I just don’t see or talk to them anymore.

I envy the people who have lifelong friends who they still see and spend time with regularly.

I envy the people who know how to maintain friendships after a move or a job change.

--

--

Alan Simpson

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.