Writing and Anxiety

Taking an Early Break From Writing

Alan Simpson
2 min readDec 20, 2021

How Anxiety Altered My Plan for the Week

Photo by Usman Yousaf on Unsplash

I had every intention to stay on my normal writing schedule for the next three days. I read Marrisa W.’s Book Prompt as usual on Saturday and prepared to write a response today. And then anxiety took over. But, for the record, I would have written about how I hated A Prayer for Owen Meany so much I’ve never read another Irving book. I don’t have it in me to write that article today.

I did write a post over on my personal blog about my year in blogging. Click here if you want to see my most popular posts over there. I will do my December in Books post tomorrow instead of the end of the month to make room for my year in books posts there. Other than this rambling mess, that will be the last of my writing until the new year. I just can’t handle even thinking about it right now.

I have spent the weekend completely stressed out about pending holiday plans. I’m not stressed out about the plans. Once I get to where I am going I will be fine. I am dealing with my normal anxiety about travel with the stress of Covid added.

I always get stressed out about a trip. This one is usually easier because I am driving and don’t have to deal with airports and the general public. I’m more stressed about the travel portion this…

--

--

Alan Simpson

I am a semi-retired former librarian who writes about a variety of topics. I review TV shows. I review books. I write about what is happening around us.